The jack-of-all-trades or The Janitor

We don’t just grow food around here. Farmers have to be ready to handle just about anything. And Greg is no exception. We’ve been together for almost 10 years, and although the novelty has worn off, I must admit, he can still amaze me from time to time.

First, he’s a great father. It doesn’t take much for Evelyn to entice him into a game of chase, tickling, or a good book. He stops what he’s doing to give her the love, attention, and respect that she deserves. I think they’ve got a good thing going.

20140712-094457.jpg

That said, I imagine it’s hard for Greg to put the farms needs to the back of his mind. If we had to hire a professional for all the things Greg knows or figures out, we’d be broke.

In the early Spring we called in Ferguson Heating to help get our greenhouse heaters started- Greg was having trouble with them. Jimmy, one of their more pleasant repairmen, worked on the heaters, but couldn’t get one started. He said we’d need a new part and they would call with an estimate. The next day, Ferguson calls to inform us that the replacement part would be $200-$450 depending on how long it would take to fix! Jimmy informed Greg that we were using the heaters in the wrong context – our Modines we’re not made for greenhouse use and were getting ruined (actually, they are designed for greenhouse use…).

So, Greg took apart the heater himself- and found a tiny spiderweb had clogged one of the gas vents. He wiped it off cleaned the whole system and ta-da! The heater works perfectly. A narrow escape from a heafty bill!

Yesterday, my trusty Allis Chalmers G just quit running as I was driving up to the hilltop fields to do some seeding (Nero de tondo radishes and daikons). We’ve had some issues with the battery and alternator, so I popped out the battery and charged it for half the day. In the evening, I came back, hooked up the battery and……nothing. So, Greg gets the call ” my G is broken, I can’t get it started”. He stops everything he’s doing and comes to my aid. 20 minutes later he comes chugging up to the tomato field with the G. I’d put the battery in backwards (not my fault- someone had rigged the G up with red battery cable that should have been black and the other one is clear!).

I remember when Greg and I started dating- we were always impressing each other. Wow- he knows how to fix a computer, install solar panels, build a pulley system, do macrame! Oh! She can knit, grow food, cook, can, and drive a tractor. So, we’ve been together long enough now that we pretty much know what we are both capable of. It’s harder to impress, and easier to have expectations- sometimes taking each other for granted.

20140712-095037.jpg

But each time Greg fixes something on the farm, each time he completes a long drawn out project, each time he hooks people in with his passion of the farm, local foods, and local economy, and each time he holds his ground against the gas drillers, I think…..that’s my guy. I love him and I’m with him forever. I’m proud of him.

This entry was posted in CSA, Farm and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The jack-of-all-trades or The Janitor

  1. janeellenparker@gmail.com says:

    Hey Jen,

    I love this! a woman claiming her man!!!

    well said, and well done!

    love, Jane

    On Sat, Jul 12, 2014 at 9:57 AM, blackberrymeadows wrote:

    > Blackberry Meadows Farm posted: “We don’t just grow food around here. > Farmers have to be ready to handle just about anything. And Greg is no > exception. We’ve been together for almost 10 years, and although the > novelty has worn off, I must admit, he can still amaze me from time to > time”

  2. Judy Laurinatis says:

    What a wonderful tribute! Thank you for making my day (and making me look at my long, long time partner with fresh eyes)

  3. Carmie Lynch says:

    That made my day (and. Greg’s too I’m sure)! Thanks for sharing Jen! And glad the G is back in business!

Leave a Reply

